A new phase

Standard

Now that all of my travels have settled down for a little while, I’m beginning a new phase in my life in America.  There are a few ideas and goals that I have for this phase.  One of my ideas is to start up a foreign college student ministry.  What I have in mind is to find about 6 Americans who would be willing to open up their home once a month to invite the students to play games, watch a movie, have conversation groups, etc.  This would allow us the chance to build relationships.  Sound familiar?  🙂  If I can find 6 such people, my next step will be to talk with some young foreigners that I already know and see if we can get a group together.  If YOU live in OKC and would be interested in hosting a group or participating with us, we could really use your help.  Let me know if you’re interested.  You can contact me through this blog, facebook, phone, email, or smoke signal.  🙂

Since I will be having a lot of extra time on my hands in between traveling, speaking, and the like, I’m contemplating substitute teaching.  Because I have seen first hand the path of destruction that can be left by a substitute, it does make me a bit leery, so it’s going to roll around in my head a bit longer before I make a final decision.  I also know that I like to have discipline in my classroom and being a sub means that having discipline is probably not very realistic.  At least not unless I can earn a reputation in a particular school system after subbing a while.  However, I also know that I MISS TEACHING!  Please think on this possibility for me to he right choice.

A goal that I’m once again for the billionth time in my life is to live a healthy lifestyle (i.e. eat healthy, exercise, and think positively).  I’m just putting this out there…I don’t have the best track record in this area.  Throughout my entire life, my weight has been my biggest struggle.  I can count on one hand the number of times in my life that I have felt at ease in my own body and with my body.  This is a major obstacle for me to overcome.  It’s a canyon really.  I want to defeat this stinkin’ thinkin’ and MOVE ON.  Again, please lift this one up as I can use all the positive thoughts I can get!  Thank you all for being my cheerleaders and urging me onward!

Until next time folks….

To become a part of my support team, you can click on the link for ONLINE GIVING to the RIGHT–>  It’s quick and easy!  

One response »

  1. I’m not sure how large your Chinese community is in OK, but if you find one, many times there are tutoring opportunities abounding for big bucks. This is tutoring after school for help with homework, test taking skills/prep and report writing skills. This is with organizations that want to hire tutors. Just an idea. xo

Leave a comment