Summertime and monkey wrenches

Standard

I’ve been on the road quite a bit over the past month and every minute of it has been special in its own way.  It all started at the end of June with Annual Meeting where I was “sent out” by the Family.  It was touching, intimate, and beautiful all at once.  I dearly love my Covie Family and am so blessed to have had them there to surround me and send me out with love, affirmation and encouragement.

1002392_10151687574743960_1013408465_n1011318_10151679873198960_985414583_n

Above:  Debbie Blue and I post Send Out              Above:  My Chinese Family, Mama and Papa Du (better known as Dave and Judy)

Soon thereafter, in July, my travels took me to Virginia for camp.  This was my first time to drive across country by myself and although I’ve been to the other side of the world and back by myself, for some reason, I did have a bit of hesitation about taking this trip alone.  My hesitation turned out to just be a little bit of nerves and the trip went off without a hitch!  I broke my trip into two days driving stopping the first night in Memphis for some EXCELLENT ribs at the world famous Rendezvous followed by some good ole’ Memphis blues.  Less than 5 minutes after sitting down in the restaurant, these delicious morsels were sitting in front of me begging to be eaten.  So.  good.

2013-07-05_19-53-53_978

I then continued onward to Virginia where I spent the entire next week literally in “the holler” and off the grid.  No cell phone bars meant time to focus on me and my Father.  It also meant that I got the chance to spend more personal time with kids.  One thing through a small monkey wrench in my time and that was strep throat which I started getting on Tuesday and by that night, I was in some major discomfort.  Fortunately, there happened to be some antibiotic lying around and I was able to start taking it that evening and by Thursday, Miss Christy was back in full effect!  🙂  Camp was awesome because I got to see how many young kids are growing leaps and bounds beyond where I was spiritually at their age!  It was truly jaw dropping to hear the vocabulary and phrases they were using to describe their vision and walks with the Father.  I’m in awe of how He is raising up such a strong believing young generation!  Despite the strep, I was blessed to be able to bond with several of these young passionate kids and share some personal stories and hopefully a little wisdom with them.  What a blessing and how awesome the Father is that He could still use us despite monkey wrenches.

iPod pics 034iPod pics 092

Above:  Now I understand the term “Smoky        Above:  This is Virginia around CMMBC – absolute beauty.

   Mountains.”

The last part of my trip involved a two night stop in Nashville for some boot scootin’ kind of country music and a little walk through history at the Grand Ole Opry.  As a Texas raised girl, I know my country music pretty well and have been raised on it.  It flows through my veins and is part of my country-fried personality.  🙂  Standing on the original wood of the Opry gave me a little chill…thinking about Patsy Cline standing there or Garth Brooks, Brad Paisley, Loretta Lynn…the list goes on and on.  It was an experience I will never forget.  When the tour guide asked if anyone wanted to sing on the stage, I briefly considered it in my head but decided that I wasn’t anywhere near the caliber I would need to be to live up to that center stage.  Still- amazing just to stand there and soak it in.

iPod pics 135iPod pics 185iPod pics 181

So, now, I’m back home until August 3rd when I’ll leave to head for Chicago through the 11th.  After that, who knows where the wind will take me!  

Until next time….

Leave a comment