Father knows best

Standard

Over the past year, I’ve been from hither to yon sharing about OTC and raising funds to return to my second home.  As I sit here today, halfway to my goal and just a few months from the designated departure date, I can’t help but feel a few different emotions stirring around inside me.  On the one hand, the pressure and stress of knowing that I’m not where I need to be in the budget department weighs heavily on my mind daily and yet, on the other hand, I have had my eyes opened recently to all the amazing blessings in my life, so there is also joy in my heart.

During this last year and a half in the States, it’s been quite the rollercoaster ride of emotions from the lows of unpacking that emotional baggage that I’ve referred to in an earlier blog posting to the highs of the Father swinging wide open the windows of Heaven and pouring out blessings on my life.  One such example is my car.  You see, my transmission has been having issues since January, so I haven’t been able to leave town in my car since Christmas for fear of breaking down on the side of the road.  Both mechanics recommended a whole new transmission which just wasn’t in my budget, so I’ve continued to drive the car and have asked for prayer for this situation for months.  Just when it seemed like getting the car fixed was impossible, we had a massive hail storm roll into town.  Now, this was not the answer I had in mind, but it was a solution nonetheless.

As I sat there waiting for the insurance guy to finish the inspection, I was silently praying, “Please let it be just enough to fix the transmission.”  As it turns out, the car was totaled by the hail, so it’ll be more than enough to fix the car.  I don’t think I could ever have imagined I’d be praising Him for hail!  As I drove away from the insurance inspection, I couldn’t help but laugh uncontrollably because there was such relief that I can at long last get the transmission fixed and travel once again.  The first thing my mom said was, “You should’ve known better than to limit God.”  She was exactly right.  All these months, I’ve been trying to find any way possible to “fix” this problem and have worried so much about it that I’m shocked every hair on my head hasn’t turned gray!  The whole time, He was waiting for me to trust Him to provide for all of my needs and then some.

Isn’t that the case so many times in our lives?  We’re down here worrying about every detail and trying to formulate a plan to solve our problems while He is there with the answer all along just waiting for us to turn to Him and trust Him completely.  It’s a great reminder for me that the Father knows best.

 

One response »

  1. Dear Christy,

    I loved this post. Isn’t it great that God lets us catch up to him. He is always able to provide, but sometimes we forget to look.

    Thanks for being so honest in your sharing.

    Ruthie

Leave a comment